Category Archives: Uncategorized

Plotting or Pantsing?

The Deviant Dolls address one of the big talking points in writing and, as usual, can’t agree on anything.

Deviant Dolls

This is a debate every writing group from forever has had, but I think we can all agree neither is right or wrong. Both are acceptable ways of crafting a story and it really depends on how the author works best. We decided to discuss it anyway.

Steve: Pants it, then plot it! Plotting requires a beginning a middle and an end, and they all turn up eventually. Ideas are what require thought. I’m not a clever man, so my higher mind rarely steers the ship in creative endeavours. A lot of books use my characters to explore and articulate the dark suspicions of my gut, the worrying questions of my dreams and the reflexive chauvinism of my drunken snarling. As such, sometimes I don’t know what I’m trying to say until I’ve said it. Then I have to edit it before people find out how terrible I am…

View original post 479 more words

Advertisements

Why Dark Fiction?

Miller always asks the important questions. Problem is, she asks her friends and we usually give shit answers. We try.

Deviant Dolls

So, I get curious from time to time, and I force the other dolls to play along and answer my many questions. This week, we’re all going to share why we choose to write dark fiction. (By dark fiction, I mean speculative, dark comedy, etc.)

Michael: I don’t limit myself to dark fiction, though there is darkness in all of my books. I have three ‘historicals’ in the pipeline – two set in the twilight years of Roman Britain, and one in early colonial America. In these, as with the Gift Trilogy coming out this year, the speculative part lies in the interstices of historical fact. But to answer the question why do I like dark in the first place – in my case it might be a very traditional Catholic education where there was no light without dark and Hell was a real place.

Steve: Dying is…

View original post 325 more words


December of Darkness

Fun and naughty games with the Deviant Dolls ALL month! Check this out for offers, freebies, and some stonking giveaways.

Deviant Dolls

It’s almost December, kittens, and that means the Christmas season is upon us. The Deviant Dolls will use any reason to toss some deals and freebies at our readers, so here we go.

Buckle in. Ready?

From December 1st to December 25th, we’ll be offering weekly sales, free promotions AND giveaways.

excited.gif

The first week of December, we have these fine titles for just 99 cents.

december of darkness dec 3 to 10LA FEMME FATALE by Renee Miller

SKER HOUSE by C.M. Saunders

SCENT by Liam McNalley

SEX, PEANUTS, FANGS AND FUR by Renee Miller

You can also get these titles absolutely free! (That’s all four books in Renee’s gods series)

free promo december 1 - 5FOR THE LOVE OF GODS SERIES (4 BOOKS) by Renee Miller

loke-ow

But we’re just getting started. Check out the fine titles we’ll have for just 99 cents during the second week of December.

December of darkness 10 - 17SEX, TRANSVESTITES, ANGELS AND ASSHOLES by Renee Miller

HUMAN WASTE

View original post 366 more words


Indie Horror Review #6

Thanks so much to Regina Saint Claire for the first review of Human Waste!

Ex Libris Regina

Human Waste by C.M. Saunders

George Romero’s original Night of the Living Dead,  the progenitor of the modern zombie horror sub-genre, opened the door on those canny, clawing, rapacious flesh-eaters. And, for this horror fan at least, he closed it too because whenever I find myself needing a zombie fix—not too often, maybe every few Halloweens—I pop in my old NOTLD DVD, sit back, and enjoy. My appetite sated.

human-waste RED

But since Romero’s cult classic and subsequent franchise, the proliferation of  zombie films, comics, graphic novels, television shows, and city-wide zombie crawls have proven that I am in the minority. Fans can’t get enough. Zombies are hot, zombies are funny (many of the most successful offerings are black comedies in the vein of Shaun of the Dead and Zombieland), and sometimes, as in the case of C.M. Saunders’ new novella, zombies are not what they seem.

Human Waste begins from…

View original post 677 more words


Book News!

Source: Book News!


C. M. Saunders ‘No Man’s Land: Horror in the Trenches’

Here’s a review of my novella No Man’s Land: Horror in the Trenches, written by Erin D. Dailey for Horror Novel Reviews. Thanks, Erin!

Horror Novel Reviews

Written by: Erin D. Dailey

No Man’s Land: Horror in the Trenches by C. M. Saunders is a fast paced novella that effectively combines the horrors of war with elements of the horror story genre.  Beginning and ending in 1916 during the Somme Offensive in France, the action covers a relatively short time span as British soldier Harry Doyle does his duty to the war effort against the German army.

The action begins realistically enough as actual horrors of daily combat are recounted. In fact, “Harry Doyle spent his first three days in the trenches vomiting and retching.” The supernatural horror element is subtly introduced with the battleground tales of fiendish Hell hounds and inhuman, indestructible German storm troopers. Harry hears his fellow soldiers share tales of what happens to men when they are chased and caught by these fantastically described Hell hounds.  Because of the advancement of “science and…

View original post 167 more words


Halloween Parties, New Releases & More

There’s a virtual Halloween party on Facebook tomorrow. And you’re invited. You’re welcome 🙂

Because I know you all don’t follow our Facebook page, I’ve slapped together all the new things that have been happening with the Dolls. First, we’re hosting a virtual shindig on …

Source: Halloween Parties, New Releases & More


%d bloggers like this: